Gatorade is a sports drink that was developed in 1965 and is now the official sports drink of most American sports leagues and is also expanding world-wide. I love Gatorade for when I run, play volleyball, ultimate, football, or do any kind of exercise. So, I was happy to see Gatorade was sold here in Geneva. Specifically, they had the standard Blue, Red and Orange ‘flavors’, even if they left out the yellow-green lime flavor.

I distinctly remember the first time I bought some of the red flavor. I was expecting Fruit Punch, as it’s sold in the US. It wasn’t; it was Red Orange or something weird. Yuck! So, next time I bought the orange flavor. I was expecting…..well, orange. It wasn’t; it was Mandarine! Yuck! Well, the third time, I bought the blue one, but I did check the label this time and was not surprised.

To this day, I see the three flavors there on the shelf. I *really* like the Orange and Fruit Punch flavors and find it baffling that they don’t sell those flavors.

Recently, they had a special “Let’s try this for a month or two” flavor: watermelon! I loved it! Really yummy. I bought it weekly. But, now it’s gone.

Now, here’s what I don’t get. I can’t remember ANY marketing by Gatorade here in Switzerland. Meaning, that all these Swiss people that see it in the stores probably have little or no idea what the hell it is. Why they need it or might want it. To me, this means that the only people who really understand the product on the shelf are the Americans who grow up with Gatorade: ads, sponsorships, NFL coaches getting doused with a big vat of Gatorade when they win the Superbowl, and so on. We know what it is. And we’ll be likely to buy it here as we recognize the product.

So, Gatorade is here, not marketed to the Swiss and therefore mostly purchased by Americans. I don’t know if that’s 100% true, but it seems logical to me.

But, the flavors that are offered are *not* ones that the Americans recognize, and at least in my case, not flavors that I like.

I would *really* like to see Gatorade have more of a presence here and more importantly, please stick with flavors that have a track record. Bring Orange, Fruit Punch and Lime to Switzerland. Please!

